Chinese medicine training – naturally outstanding

Follow the experiences of acupuncture students and graduates at LCTA and find out what it's really like to study Traditional Chinese Medicine

The transition from student to working practitioner was exciting

Murad Muhtaseb is a 33-year old acupuncture practitioner based in South West London.  Murad graduated from LCTA with a BSc (Hons) in Acupuncture in August 2007.  Prior to retraining, he worked as a Dental Surgeon.  Here he talks about his experiences in choosing a clinic setting and establishing his practice.

What kind of practice do you run and where are you based?

I practice in the Esporta Health and Fitness Centre in Wimbledon, South West London.  It’s a clinic situated in the tranquil Spa area of the centre, and is open to members and non-members of the club.  Being located in a gym I see a lot of musculoskeletal conditions but I see a wide variety of other ailments too.  I am happy to see any condition that I think I can help with.

What was the transition from student to practitioner like for you?

I was more worried about setting up my practice than was necessary.  With a bit of patience I found a clinic that I felt comfortable in, in the area I was interested in, and at a price I could afford. It took about three months and in that time I saw places that just weren’t right for me, but I guess you need to see what you don’t want to appreciate the good places.

Because it was a well established gym I had access to local health conscious people who were interested in hearing more about my services.  It wasn’t hard to generate interest in acupuncture but converting that interest to actual clients was a little tougher. I knew business would be a little slow at the beginning so I wasn’t too disappointed that I had many gaps between appointments.   When I was busy I tried my best to give the best treatments I could, and on quiet times I would research my cases, and work on marketing and designing my website.  All in all the transition from student to working practitioner was exciting and ran fairly smoothly.

Is there anything you would have done differently?

Not really.  I am glad I jumped in to practising full time or I don’t think I would have become a full-time acupuncturist at all.  I am still learning about running a business as I go, but it’s all part of the adventure.

What are you plans for the future?

To carry on building a client list and I am always looking out for new opportunities.  Last September I started working at an acupuncture clinic in Kingston University and I can see myself joining up with other practitioners like osteopaths or chiropractors in multi-disciplinary clinics if the right opportunity arises.  The healing power of acupuncture is so amazing I constantly want to read and find out more about different styles of acupuncture and learn from other practitioners’ experiences.  Being in London, I am lucky to have a huge selection of lectures and courses to attend.

Do you have any tips for current or prospective students of TCM?

Enjoy what you do.  Building a practice takes time but it will be a lot easier if your career excites you.  Be patient and positive and there is no reason why we can’t all have a clinic working at the level we desire.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

